Stranded Gypsy Girl

Original. Quirky. Spreading Love Like Dandelions

CREDO FOR INDIVIDUALITY February 7, 2009

Filed under: My world and my life,Random Musings — bessabariangirl @ 9:24 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

“Cool denotes an impregnable sense of self, aloof from the crowd even as the crowd rushes to embrace it. It’s an elusive combination of good taste, composed self-assurance and own-terms independence. Cool is the confidence of aesthetic conviction and the strength of personality to impress one’s vision on others. Cool requires imagination and a unique perspective. It’s magnetic because it makes the mundane sublime.” The Age Fashion Blog

I’m just going to have to, “do my own thing on my own terms”. Just be unapologetically me and equally unapologetically do the things I want to do and talk about the things I’m interested in. I’m over craving for acceptance. I just do not fit in at school; never have and – thank God – never will.

Neither do other people who I consider cool (Thomasy is one of them actually cos he is so totally himself and does what he does. Alena, that percussionist I was friends with years ago is pretty much the coolest person I know, her personality was so imprinted on me. A bit like Lachlan’s ‘Dan’ who he always states as his inspiration. Alena introduced me to herbal teas and jazz, she knew her stuff about music and is amazingly skilled. She had opinions but never pressed them – though she stated them when something came up to trigger them!)

Lachlan finds this individuality thing incredibly easy and it’s that strength of self assurance that draws people towards him. And then they start to imitate him. The problem with me is that I’ve always had this craving to be liked by everyone. It’s just not going to happen. Especially with Nikki around. So I’m just going to be who I want to be and say what I want to say in class without worrying that I sound like a know-it-all. I’m going to talk to all year levels and damn well sing in choir and do production because those are the things I love. I still want to be approachable and make a difference in people’s lives, but carrying on like an ego-centric fragile collection of neurosis is hardly going to help anyone or anything.

I’m going to talk to teachers without worrying I’ll be called a “teachers pet”. I’ll read The Age on the bus if that so interests me (even if it may be “the old mans newspaper”. Home and Away sucks. Of course I’ll still be tactful and nice but I will not get sucked into their games or even waste a thought on it. So what if I’m not invited to Tom’s 18th, I hate alcohol anyway. If I want to go hyper on the glockenspiel in Music Styles I shall and no Jen, I will not “tone it down’. (even if everyone confirmed to what some people’s idea of the perfect mould, they would still find a problem with it!)

Bridget was cool. She read the dictionary for fun and watched Iron chef just for the heck of it. She played guitar at lunch and no one told her to shut up. She had the funkiest haircut in Nathalia and once they got over it they thought it was hot and now some tote the same one. She was original from the time I knew her at age of 6, wanting to be a fashion designer and using old scrapbooks to design them.

If I adore Jane Austen and Shakespeare in Literature and everyone else is whingeing about how much they loathe them, well, guess who will top the exam. I do not care if I appear attractive or nor. Lach loves me for who I am at any moment (as proven with early morning rendezvous while I had bed hair, morning breathe and the remnants of pimple cream on my face). I will not check myselfconstantly to pinpoint where or where not I am presentable to the public. I’ll smile and have fun and let them decide for themselves. I have a right to be an optimist and idealist. I can believe in God without having to act as his lawyers constantly. I can talk to a boy without worrying whether or not he finds me attractive. I can use the most elongated and enormous words I can muster and you can look them up when you get home. I can have fun at school.

Stuff those who say I can’t!

 

From The Age’s fashion blog

Follow the Beat of Your Own Drum

Follow the Beat of Your Own Drum

 

 

Follow the Beat of Your Own Drum

Follow the Beat of Your Own Drum

I’m just going to have to, “do my own thing on my own terms”. Just be unapologetically me and equally unapologetically do the things I want to do and talk about the things I’m interested in. I’m over craving for acceptance. I just do not fit in at school; never have and – thank God – never will.

Neither do other people who I consider cool (Thomasy is one of them actually cos he is so totally himself and does what he does. Alena, that percussionist I was friends with years ago is pretty much the coolest person I know, her personality was so imprinted on me. A bit like Lachlan’s ‘Dan’ who he always states as his inspiration. Alena introduced me to herbal teas and jazz, she knew her stuff about music and is amazingly skilled. She had opinions but never pressed them – though she stated them when something came up to trigger them!)

Lachlan finds this individuality thing incredibly easy and it’s that strength of self assurance that draws people towards him. And then they start to imitate him. The problem with me is that I’ve always had this craving to be liked by everyone. It’s just not going to happen. Especially with Nikki around. So I’m just going to be who I want to be and say what I want to say in class without worrying that I sound like a know-it-all. I’m going to talk to all year levels and damn well sing in choir and do production because those are the things I love. I still want to be approachable and make a difference in people’s lives, but carrying on like an ego-centric fragile collection of neurosis is hardly going to help anyone or anything.

I’m going to talk to teachers without worrying I’ll be called a “teachers pet”. I’ll read The Age on the bus if that so interests me (even if it may be “the old mans newspaper”. Home and Away sucks. Of course I’ll still be tactful and nice but I will not get sucked into their games or even waste a thought on it. So what if I’m not invited to Tom’s 18th, I hate alcohol anyway. If I want to go hyper on the glockenspiel in Music Styles I shall and no Jen, I will not “tone it down’. (even if everyone confirmed to what some people’s idea of the perfect mould, they would still find a problem with it!)

Bridget was cool. She read the dictionary for fun and watched Iron chef just for the heck of it. She played guitar at lunch and no one told her to shut up. She had the funkiest haircut in Nathalia and once they got over it they thought it was hot and now some tote the same one. She was original from the time I knew her at age of 6, wanting to be a fashion designer and using old scrapbooks to design them.

If I adore Jane Austen and Shakespeare in Literature and everyone else is whingeing about how much they loathe them, well, guess who will top the exam. I do not care if I appear attractive or nor. Lach loves me for who I am at any moment (as proven with early morning rendezvous while I had bed hair, morning breathe and the remnants of pimple cream on my face). I will not check myselfconstantly to pinpoint where or where not I am presentable to the public. I’ll smile and have fun and let them decide for themselves. I have a right to be an optimist and idealist. I can believe in God without having to act as his lawyers constantly. I can talk to a boy without worrying whether or not he finds me attractive. I can use the most elongated and enormous words I can muster and you can look them up when you get home. I can have fun at school.

Stuff those who say I can’t!

 

Leave a Reply

